Utorrent/webpage problem

A cure for all your hardware/software ailments.

Moderators: SCUMBAG, INKoRP, spud, GURU, Clan Leader

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Utorrent/webpage problem

Postby Dv8 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:03 pm

Wondering if anybody knows anything about this ?

I hit some key on my key board not sure which one .

And some text type stuff came up in a couple of inch border , now when i go to open a torrent in utorrent the torrent wont open .

Tried the usuall by going into open the torrent with application utorrent etc , it wont .

Tried system restore & reinstalling , getting rid of registry settings etc .

When i try to open a torrent on KAt torrents etc i get a whole page of this instead of opening the torrent .

d8:announce38:udp://tracker.publicbt.com:80/announce13:announce-listll38:udp://tracker.publicbt.com:80/announceel44:udp://tracker.openbittorrent.com:80/announceel35:udp://tracker.istole.it:80/announceel31:udp://bt.rghost.net:80/announceel34:udp://tracker.zond.org:80/announceel36:udp://open.demonii.com:1337/announceel35:udp://coppersurfer.tk:6969/announceel34:udp://tracker.token.ro:80/announceel39:udp://ipv4.tracker.harry.lu:80/announceel26:udp://pow7.com:80/announceee7:comment61:Torrent downloaded from torrent cache at http://torcache.net/10:created by12:uTorrent/3.413:creation datei1391246253e8:encoding5:UTF-84:infod5:filesld6:lengthi259708555e4:pathl63:Gold.Rush.S04E15.400p.HDTV.x264-][ Medevac ][ 01-Feb-2014 ].mp4eee4:name21:Gold.Rush.S04E15.400p12:piece lengthi32768e6:pieces158520:ùw!§ÙÛ‘»¶~B%æô!®<©ÈFpÁÜm×ÙiºìÓ\­I<ò Wôà©f+mÂ\¾rÚÈÍ™ûÒ^Ê å¥*­Ö²R7I?1i˜gÏvåSª=9KÜÍØRo…ÊɯPa¡žÐë߆:‚Œ¾ÊÎœ]‰Ç™^ì2G¿þ³avù7¡ˆÍ_‘§³~˜.DÕÚÀÌ«Qkš?—èܐ»¾íSxX—ʨ†W0Mªn×ÒVoÖn¢^ý3–Ž¯ø¬/ŸÙ2–AT}ÖOœOpUãMÇšt‚—ä{‹íðÂ6yH>ÆžÁ@a†FlÖρ.‘^²G`XEÈÔäÓY§[Ž®&Bë“D-’6Bø)j%r¥>!8¬‹oKf¦J Ð;_ˆöiRø¯|ŽñÝá+ΞðfO«òˆN Û6îo†O™ìk@éù9º$øêiîKÔ38•üÀ8˜gŒ;Çc‹ !¨d™ >\?_%´ •’8¼µ;—®Öt4Ñ ßÉ«–(º$æ@„go£WÿÑâ
ʦ¾*HJ´áÛ~ï¶×z´­rï-—ˆšù¯9#h`Qj
Š«‰,é£(!ÑÄþPòè¹E ¬x;}ø%LÜŽíÐ:èüVQâg¢n.`ü‚©œ‡x6_R!÷‹vei
uä±,6”]tEƒçy¸‰ÑÎÿz>uÑ'¼¶lÕ=òÁLœÔ¸»B8úD [hÿ¾µòBDÓ1»«î[È2ŸO@4äòw.ÊL¶P.®N`ú½6ªÛo?ŽjMû F—Dí UвN©ÐqiŠ Âźú’ÁÈiî˜ýôÇÿxìÈóÚ ²‚SÇ7@²`¶qVØ…
­H¤3ύŠ€•ï;ŠºšñÀþ¯ßPÆ""Ûž9}ß7µjÞˆðÏAíqÄ^ÿ,³j,±èàæJQYz¶ñ2BZ,yð}ƒš¢_@"®ÖF.ŒSï•DOI¶ûÿ*z¯ü'¿bÎ5)ŒcáÉ>:gÙÉ_8]òöGã¾ 8×'Ÿ=a¹ÆüþÉT<¸s¬šÅBg½Ùi™aÌnŸÁt±¨Øê\–°Ý Ú Äð(eC/<XyÇS‰|Qhch®V"òÁ˜xiÔ,íÐÉ ¡kFՏjÃ*W ¾ÍLÆÌ%+ãÕN²Só`µ2ÔòOv¸°I°½s×£’2«áÓ™¡åd£ ŠG°ƒ+EØTm-¢†ˆ²NêÜ6æœætê¦5ƒ1™¹o¶{¸é±}K-„þz(ŸÁ2©3xBÂl¶¾˜—Ö!÷…Üi7rQce›äº¥…à/†¢xZː
ç°u×ÁQQ¦J”r™7ÝÄàMíkk«œÉ“\š)VR.yFuo†â±C/õ|×°a™ëðEȏ[dœ"¨Ì×›ÀC/1¶¥>Ûpj¾Ðž‡˜’"q;Ð* J+;„tñÓms1ê<º
7".WÎ`@3“SËxå5T®Œ0ÁÕ


any suggestions ?

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:54 pm

What browser do you use?

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Postby Dv8 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:20 pm

IE8 , yer i know i should upgrade , but never had any probs before on vista btw .

If i can download the torrent file to desktop then add it throught Utorrent i can get it to wk , never had to
do that before just used to open instead of save and it would automatically open utorrent and start downloading , but now it comes up
with the above like its trying to open in the browser instead .

Weird.

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:40 am

I have Windows 7 but it should be basically the same:

Go to:
Control Panel>Default Programs>Associate a file type or protocol with a program.

Then scroll all the way down to .torrent

If it's already utorrent I can't help you... if it's anything else select it and look for a button that says 'Change Program' and then find utorrent and set it to that, then try downloading a new torrent and see what happens.

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Postby Dv8 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 8:58 am

Go to:
Control Panel>Default Programs>Associate a file type or protocol with a program.

Then scroll all the way down to .torrent

Yer tried that ink , thats what i cant workout .torrent isnt in the list , even after reinstalling , having the program open etc :|

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:18 am

Find a torrent file on your PC and right click and click on 'Open With' and select utorrent.

Then try it... if not then try the first thing I suggested again as it may have added it to the list again.

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:53 am

If you can't find a torrent file, just rename a text file

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Postby Dv8 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:11 pm

thanks ink thats the weird thing ,

when i go to rename its allready 19A109F955AC6A218E971655650BC195B2C1CE93.torrent

but when i go to properties it says it opens with Windows Shell Common Dll .

When i click change , utorrents not in the list

When i browse to utorrent it does open /connect to it .

Its only happened whe i accidently some key on my KB , not sure which one but at the same time
i had some html type text come up above my bottom toolbar , and had it above a web page at a torrent site , weird .

Tried reinstalling etc etc , can download torrents if i save to desktop first then add the torrent with Utorrent , but
sites like piratebay etc dont give u the option to download the torrent to desktop , most when you click it will automatically
open Utorrent and commence downloading .

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:20 pm

When you select the program to 'Open With' after browsing, be sure to check the box at the bottom that says something about doing it automatically every time.

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Postby Dv8 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:47 pm

yer i know that , but weird thing is utorrent is installed , it wont show in the programs to choose from , so then i browse to it
and i can click on it , but it wont go into the little selection bar to choose it , and if i just click on it nothing happens .

Its got something to do with some frikkin key i pressed accidently lol , some frikkin micro macro hak or somethang lol .

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:34 pm

If you want me to take a look at it, install 'Team Viewer' it's free and it'll allow me to use my mouse/keyboard on your computer.

If you're keen PM me.

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:49 pm

Quick question though. Have you tried other browsers yet?

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Postby Dv8 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 7:22 pm

na havent tried other browsers yet

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Mon Feb 03, 2014 7:29 pm

Try Firefox or Chrome and see if it's a OS problem or a browser problem

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Postby Dv8 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 7:44 pm

yer will try chrome , will my favorites in IE8 transfer to chrome ? Can i do that ?

Yer my torrent file seems to now want to either open in browser or Adobe Reader .


Return to “Spud n GURU's Tech Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests