GAMING MONITORS

A cure for all your hardware/software ailments.

Moderators: SCUMBAG, INKoRP, spud, GURU, Clan Leader

User avatar
GURU
Clan Member
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Planet EARTH

GAMING MONITORS

Postby GURU » Fri Apr 27, 2018 11:53 am

Has anyone bought a high refresh rate monitor to help with their gaming, particularly with quake live cos its so fast!

played online yesterday - a dude playing was saying how he went out and got 144hz monitor and it has helped him massively with his gaming !

so i started to look into it! {i need all the help i can get!} ;)

options

sync technology - nvidia g sync, AMD free sync Refresh rates - 144Hz 165Hz 240Hz -

Panel Types - TN IPS VA Res sizes - 1920x1080 [1080P] , 2560x1440 {1440P}

***input lag is important too ! ***

choices choices choices

sweet spot seems to be 144Hz 1ms TN 27" 1440P / 144Hz IPS 4ms 27" 1440P , 144Hz VA 27"1080P 1ms but which is better????

watched a few you tube video reviews IPS looks better no question [can be a little blurry]! but it is also not as smooth as TN but its close !

VA looks even better again but the 27" panels come with only 1080P res atm!!!

also there is a massive hit in performance when u go upto 2560x1440 res. *** FPS will be approx halved ! *** :( dont matter for QL !

i dont really know what to get ? i would really like to try them all first to see what i like the best!

any feedback would be greatly appreciated ! :)


brands that make the above -
asus acer samsung AOC BENQ Viewsonic
long live the P U T E Y ! :)

User avatar
GURU
Clan Member
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Planet EARTH

Postby GURU » Sun Apr 29, 2018 8:22 pm

i bought an ACER XB241H monitor yesterday ! Woo Hoo ! $500 from CPL !
it is really good although it took me a 2 hours to figure out how to get it to work !

it actually looks better than i thought it would ie picture quality and it is soooooooo smooooooooooooth ! :)

some basics that i didnt know - :(

Rule No.1 to get g-sync to work you must use the display port cable! also to get fast refresh rate you must use display port cable ! Doh !

Rule No.2 to get pc to recognise and use display port cable shut it all down for a couple of minutes.

then make sure you ONLY have display port cable connected .

now my biggest stuff up was my video card has 3 separate display ports
on the back of it . you need to know which is the default.
3 guess and i finally got it right!
make sure you select display port with the monitor too !

then reboot and it should all work sweet ! :)

Running your monitor and games at 144Hz . set max FPS to 144Hz for QL ingame and set monitor to 144Hz !

ALL will be SWEET ! PLAY n ENJOY ! its sooooo smooooooooooth !!! :) AWESOME !

i run Witcher 3 with it too and it was crap [pulsating constantly ] so i got online and read up about it! .

i altered settings in nvidia control panel . it seemed to be where i was in the game but after i road away it was perfect !

cheers! :)
long live the P U T E Y ! :)

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1861
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Mon Apr 30, 2018 3:56 pm

Noice, now you can never go back!

I went from a 13" laptop to a 21" desktop to a 24" 120Hz to a 27" 144Hz and loved every jump (although the 120-144Hz obviously wasn't super noticeable)

I had a similar issue when switching from VGA to DVI as I was initially lazy and just unplugged one monitor and plugged the new one in on the same cable and spent 30mins rebooting trying to get it to show 120Hz before I twigged.

borgasm
Clan Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:48 pm
Location: Radelaide, SA

Postby borgasm » Mon May 21, 2018 9:26 pm

I too am part of the wrong cable club.

I run 2 monitors but the card only has 1 DVI port so I use that for the main and a HDMI for the secondary. I originally had it the other way around and spent ages trying to get it into 144hz mode until I realised is was a PEBKAC error. (problem exists between keyboard and chair)

User avatar
GURU
Clan Member
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Planet EARTH

Postby GURU » Wed May 30, 2018 10:18 pm

nOICE THERE BORGASM! GOES BACK TOT HAT OLD SAYING IF ITALL ELSE FAILS REAED THE MANUAL! HAHA AND THE INTERNET TOO ! :)
long live the P U T E Y ! :)


Return to “Spud n GURU's Tech Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest