Steam Era

Talk about anything you wish

Moderators: SCUMBAG, INKoRP, Clan Leader

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1756
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Postby Dv8 » Wed Nov 04, 2015 5:56 pm

Use extraQL and it leaves your Steam name intact and just changes the colors ingame ...

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1863
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Wed Nov 04, 2015 6:35 pm

Will have to have a fiddle tonight...and then install extraQL

borgasm
Clan Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:48 pm
Location: Radelaide, SA

Postby borgasm » Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:53 pm

Ive tried to subscribe to extraQL but nothing seems to happen or download. I try and install the shortcut and the folders dont exist. Am I missing a step? Asking predah0r via the extraql site already but just checking there isnt more to do aside from hit subscribe and then do the shortcut.

User avatar
Outersquare
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:31 pm

Postby Outersquare » Wed Nov 04, 2015 8:55 pm

I did that Hardy, but it looks shit and sometimes you can't even read peoples names with all that 'hat_digit' stuff mixed in with your letters.

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1756
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re:

Postby Dv8 » Wed Nov 04, 2015 9:04 pm

borgasm wrote:Ive tried to subscribe to extraQL but nothing seems to happen or download. I try and install the shortcut and the folders dont exist. Am I missing a step? Asking predah0r via the extraql site already but just checking there isnt more to do aside from hit subscribe and then do the shortcut.


there is an alternative download link , https://github.com/PredatH0r/extraQL/releases

works , extract it to the path it says .

c:\program files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\workshop\content\282440\539252269

Tick options then you'll see the two fields (name for QL) and name for when QL shuts down , put your color coded name in the first field on left , make sure you tick option , start as admin ...

User avatar
Outersquare
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:31 pm

Re: Steam Era

Postby Outersquare » Wed Nov 04, 2015 9:16 pm

DV, there are 16 dv8's on Steam .. which one are you ?

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1756
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Postby Dv8 » Wed Nov 04, 2015 9:52 pm

imposters

i have a white tag with black letters

i only saw one OuterSquare from the U.S ?

User avatar
Outersquare
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:31 pm

Postby Outersquare » Wed Nov 04, 2015 10:14 pm

it's actually ^7Outer^1Square :p

cug
Clan Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 3:13 pm

Re:

Postby cug » Wed Nov 04, 2015 11:45 pm

borgasm wrote:Ive tried to subscribe to extraQL but nothing seems to happen or download. I try and install the shortcut and the folders dont exist. Am I missing a step? Asking predah0r via the extraql site already but just checking there isnt more to do aside from hit subscribe and then do the shortcut.

It's hard to find the folder, for me on windows 8 it was:
Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/workshop/content/******/*********

borgasm
Clan Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:48 pm
Location: Radelaide, SA

Postby borgasm » Thu Nov 05, 2015 3:11 pm

I didnt have the content folder in there, and nothing in behind it obviously. After downloading it via github and installing manually it works. ALthough it does tell me to uninstall and use the subscribe button every time I launch it ...

User avatar
INKoRP
Posts: 1863
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Perth
Contact:

Postby INKoRP » Thu Nov 05, 2015 3:55 pm

Try this: Subscribe, then verify the game cache and restart steam then do w/e else it tells you...

borgasm
Clan Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:48 pm
Location: Radelaide, SA

Postby borgasm » Thu Nov 05, 2015 7:57 pm

Removed existing folders I had added, unsubscribed and rebooted. Validated quake files, subscribed, validated again, still nothing.

Its working with the manual install so I'll just stick with that I guess. Not worth chasing it down if its only me it doesn't work for.

cug
Clan Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 3:13 pm

Postby cug » Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:00 am

All it does is change your steam name back to normal when you exit (and some vid_restart stuff), it's not necessary to play.

User avatar
Dv8
Clan Member
Posts: 1756
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Adelaide

Postby Dv8 » Fri Nov 06, 2015 6:22 pm

no need to install either it just unpacks to the folder .

Surely they will patch it , probably will be part of DLC .

User avatar
kanonfoda
Clan Member
Posts: 440
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Brisbane

Postby kanonfoda » Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:57 pm

Missed playing QL so "with gritted teeth" I bought it. You will now see me playing again so the easy frag is back :)
I have pit in my steam name so you'll know its me. Damn those that took my name!

I guess I'll have to work out how to find everyone and what I need to do for the new version. Keep an eye out for me and let me know who you are if you're playing under a different name.
Did I just say that?


Return to “Talk Zone”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests